Hotel Scholl Schwäbisch Hall
123.jpg

Schwäbisch Hall

Schwäbisch Hall surprises with its beauty and history. The market square spouses to be one of the most beautiful in southern Germany  

Hotel Scholl is located in the heart of the historic town of Schwäbisch Hall. Framed by half-timbered and important centuries-old buildings, one can still get an idea of the importance the city once had as a trading hub in medieval times.


Schwäbisch Hall is still a beautiful place to spend some time for pleasure or business in southern Germany. At the river Kocher, were salt used to be harvested from the water wells on Haalplatz square, you can sometimes still see how it used to be done.

We are proud that our houses make up a part of this big history. Especially the house of Thomas Schweicker, an artist and calligrapher (1540-1602). Born without arms, Schweicker became famous for painting and writing while holding a quill pen with his right foot. Thomas Schweicker used to live with his brother in this our latest addition to the hotel.

Charming city

Hotel Scholl is the ideal place to start exploring the ancient narrow alleys of Schwäbisch Hall. You can join guided tours and our staff is happy to share the little secret places to discover around town.

Schwäbisch Hall

Discover the harmony of past and present side by side in the historic town center with its narrow alleys and covered wooden bridges. On the official web site of the city you will find extensive information concerning your visit, the attractions as well as events and guided tours.


The Historic Town Center

One of the most beautiful historic town centers in southern Germany invites you to explore. Traversed by the river Kocher, the old salt-producing city features an impressive and complete image of an old town made up of a partially intact city wall, numerous towers, covered wooden bridges, a large number of stairs as well as medieval alleys nearly unchanged over the centuries.


The St. Michael's Church

St. Michael with its famous open-air staircase is majestically enthroned above the market square. Consecrated in 1156 as a Romanesque basilica, it was re-built as a gothic hall church between 1427 and 1525.


Worth seeing are - aside from the exceptional late gothic works like the Dutch passion altar from around 1460, the larger-than-life-sized crucifix of the Ulm sculptor Michael Erhardt (1494) and the filigree stonemason work of the figuratively rich tabernacle (1438) - the other altars, paintings and monuments. Likewise worth mentioning are the medieval ossuary beneath the choir, the epitaph of the armless calligrapher Thomas Schweicker or curiosities like a mammoth tooth found in 1605 or the „hunger box“ of 1817.


160 steps lead up the steeple to the belfry or the former apartment of the tower guard with a wonderful view across the entire town.


The Johanniter Church

The Johanniter church, a profaned 12th century chapel, offers an atmospheric museum ambiance for masterpieces from Lucas Cranach the Elder to Tilman Riemenschneider. The central piece of the important Collection of Old Masters dedicated to the art of southwestern Germany, including the area around Lake Constance and northern Switzerland of the late medieval period to the early renaissance is the former Fürstlich-Fürstenbergischer Bilderschatz Donaueschingen acquired by the Würth family in 2003.


The Urban Church

The church possesses three exceptional works with the fresco of Maria at the Spinning Wheel, a late-gothic high altar and a baroque organ.


Shopping City

Schwäbisch Hall is the shopping center of the region. Commerce and the change it bears have a long tradition here. In the lovingly restored town center you will find a colorful mixture of hustle and bustle and quiet strolls.


Celebrations

Culture is of high importance in our city. Part of it are our celebrations. Among the biggest and most beautiful ones are the Cake-and-Fountain Festival of the Schwäbisch Hall Salters on Pentecost and the Summernight Festival at the end of August. Colorful and full of lust for life are those two festivals, made possible by the involvement of hundreds of volunteers.


The Salters’ Court

The Great Salters’ Court Schwäbisch Hall is living proof of a complex past. Its roots go back to early medieval times when the young group of salters did not only produce salt from a well used already back in Celtic times, but also functioned as fire fighters or citizens’ guard in this „Free City of the Holy Roman Empire“.

Idyllic Countryside

Take advantage of our hotel as a base station for excursions into the surrounding countryside. Idyllic landscapes, impressive castles, refreshing streams as well as romantic roads and towns have inspired many of our guests to take a tour. Our own garage for bicycles and motorcycles is much appreciated.

Großcomburg Monastery

Großcomburg is situated on top of a hill high above the Kocher valley and within viewing distance of the town. The former church and monastery complex is a monument of European rank. The St. Nikolaus church houses two treasures with the fire gilt altar front and the Romanesque chandelier. Learn everything important about opening hours and guided tours on the web site of the monastery.


Hohenlohe Open Air Museum Wackershofen

Just a few minutes by car separates the town center from the Hohenlohe Open Air Museum in Wackershofen. From the stately farm building to the small day laborer’s dwelling, from the mill to vintners’ houses to a chapel and a prison, they all cover a full palette of about 70 historic buildings from the 16th to the 20th century. Surrounded by gardens, meadows and fields full of farm animals of historic breeds, the past comes to life. The web site of the Open Air Museum supplies you with all important information on opening hours and guided tours.


Swimming, Fun and Recreation

As a town with a great salters’ tradition the salt water is still utilized today to pamper your body and soul in the Solebad and Schenkenseebad.


Hiking and Biking

Many of our guests take advantage of the Hotel Scholl as a base station for a nearly endless number of hiking, biking and motorcycle excursions. Whether it´s the Swabian-Franconia Forest, the Kocher-Jagst Bicycle Path or the Castles Road, there is always a lot to see whether on foot or on a bike.


Ballooning above the Land

After you´ve explored our towns and its surroundings, a romantic trip in a hot air balloon invites you to see the places of all your unforgettable experiences from the birds view.

Diverse Culture

Regularly, we´re able to welcome guests who aside from the many different aspects of the city take an interest in its rich cultural offerings. The open air theater „Freilichtspiele“ and the Globe Theater are known to connoisseurs of the stage.

Usually, our guests combine these experiences with a visit to the numerous art exhibits that are showing works by internationally known artists.

Additionally, Schwäbisch Hall impresses with its festivals and markets rich in tradition, filling our streets with the flair of the medieval. And as the town used to attract merchants from all directions to this place, the local Goethe Institute facilitates cultural connections in the present day.

Freilichtspiele

Theater under the open sky is a very special experience in Schwäbisch Hall. Embedded in the picturesque scenery of the old town, professional theater has been presented on the Grand Staircase in front of St. Michael´s since 1925. There is acting, singing and dancing on the 53 steps that strive towards heaven. And the romantic market square turns into a theater box for theater lovers from near and far. Visit the official web page for the Freilichtspiele for schedules and reservations.


Globe Theater Schwäbisch Hall

The Globe Theater Schwäbisch Hall on an island of the Kocher river is the second principal performance space and a genuine Shakespeare theater. In this round wooden building with its 391 covered and weather-independent seats you´ll also find the children's and youth theater. For a view of the schedules and available tickets please consult the official web page of the Freilichtspiele.


Kunsthalle Würth

Since its opening in 2001, the Kunsthalle Würth has turned into a veritable visitors’s magnet. With its by now 17,000 works from five centuries, the Würth Collection is considered one of Europe’s most important private collections. It has found an attractive exhibition space in the Kunsthalle Würth, designed by the Danish architect Henning Larsen where it is presented in ever-changing thematic aspects. Emphasis lies on important works of sculpture, painting and graphic arts of the late 19th century to the present day. The official web site of the Kunsthalle Würth informs you about current and planned exhibitions.


Old Masters Collection Würth

Housed in the Johanniter church, this collection presents among others works by Lucas Cranach or the world-famous Darmstadt Madonna, a masterpiece by Hans Holbein the Younger. The official web site of the Old Masters Collection informs you about the works on exhibit.


Hällisch-Fränkisches Museum

The Hällisch-Fränkisches Museum, situated in the medieval town center shows history, art and culture of the former Free City of the Holy Roman Empire and its environs on more than 3,000 square meters. An informative tour leads your from the geological beginnings of the region to the present day.


Haalamt

In this building next to the Haalplatz, the fortunes of the salters were decided upon over the course of centuries. A member of the Haal Council will gladly offer you insight into the genealogical books according to which even today the „Eternal Salters’ Pension“ is calculated.


Kunstverein

Here you will find contemporary art in extraordinary spaces.


Airfield Museum in the Solpark

The museum shows a cross-section of the history of the Fliegerhorst Schwäbisch Hall 1934 - 1945 and the time of the US Army at the Dolan Barracks up to 1993.


Fire Fighters’ Museum

The Fire Fighters’ Museum comprises an exhibition area of more than 1,600 square meters and houses an inventory of 6,000 pieces, among them one of the largest collections of fire engines and helmets in Europe.


Concentration Camp Memorial Hessental

The memorial near the Hessental train station documents the history of the external concentration camp which existed there from October 1944 until April 1945.


House of the Metalsmith Emil Schmidt

On exhibit is the former residence of the Honorary Citizen Emil Schmidt from the 18th century with examples of the art of metalsmithing from four centuries.


Dieter Franck Haus

The Dieter Franck Haus houses and takes care of the artistic estate of the painter Dieter Franck (1909 - 1980). On view are the former residence and the paintings, designs and graphic works.


Haus der Ortsgeschichte (House of the Community History)

A collection of objects in village and peasant use.


Galerie am Markt

This art museum shows rotating exhibitions of contemporary German artists.


Goethe Institute

The Goethe Institute in Schwäbisch Hall is not only a place to learn German but also a meeting point of the cultures.

Strong Economy

As an important economic center in southern Germany we are happy to welcome many business people in Schwäbisch Hall.

If you are looking for an exclusive location for a business stay for yourself or your guests, Hotel Scholl offers you the ideal parameters. Equipped with all the amenities expected by the business traveller, and in addition, the Bärbel American Bar provides relaxation needed after a strenuous business day.

Economic Center Schwäbisch Hall

Our city is not only the cultural but also the economic center of the region. On the official web site of the Economic Center Schwäbisch Hall you can learn more about the companies located here and the secrets to their success.


World Market Leader Summit

Each year, Schwäbisch Hall becomes the arena of the World Market Leader Summit, one of the largest meetings of world market leader entrepreneurs, consultants and decision makers whose participants from all over we´re always happy to welcome. The program of the event can be seen on the official web site of the World Market Leader Summit.

Hotel Scholl Schwäbisch Hall
123.jpg

Schwäbisch Hall

Schwäbisch Hall überrascht mit Schönheit und Geschichte. Der Marktplatz ist einer der schönsten im Süden von Deutschland

Das Hotel Scholl liegt im Herzen der historischen Altstadt von Schwäbisch Hall. Eingerahmt in Fachwerk und bedeutende, jahrhundertealte Gebäude lässt sich immer noch der Status erahnen, den die Stadt als wichtigen Handelsknotenpunkt im Mittelalter innehatte.


Auch wenn am Fluss Kocher heutzutage nur noch beim sogenannten Schausieden Salz gewonnen wird, ist Schwäbisch Hall immer noch ein wichtiges Freizeit-, Kultur- und Wirtschaftszentrum in Süddeutschland.

Wir sind stolz darauf, dass unsere Gebäude vor allem durch das Wohnhaus des armlosen Kunstschreibers Thomas Schweicker ebenfalls ein wichtiges Stück Stadtgeschichte darstellen.

Romantische Stadt

Erkunden Sie vom zentral gelegenen Hotel Scholl die romantischen Gassen und beeindruckenden Bauwerke der Stadt. Zahlreiche Stadtführungen bringen Ihnen unser historisches Schwäbisch Hall dabei noch näher. Gerne verraten wir Ihnen die schönsten Ecken unserer Stadt, in denen die Zeit seit Jahrhunderten still zu stehen scheint.

Schwäbisch Hall

Entdecken Sie das harmonische Nebeneinander von Vergangenheit und Gegenwart in der historischen Altstadt mit ihren schmalen Gassen und überdachten Holzbrücken. Auf der offiziellen Webseite der Stadt erhalten Sie ausführliche Informationen zu Ihrem Besuch, den Sehenswürdigkeiten sowie zu Veranstaltungen und Stadtführungen.


Die Haller Altstadt

Eine der schönsten historischen Altstädte Süddeutschlands lädt zum Verweilen ein. Vom Kocher durchflossen, bietet die alte Salzsiederstadt mit teilweise erhaltener Stadtmauer, zahlreichen Türmen, überdachten Holzbrücken, einer Vielzahl von Treppen und „Stäffele“ sowie nahezu unverändert mittelalterlichen Gassen ein eindrucksvolles, geschlossenes Stadtbild.


Die Kirche St. Michael

St. Michael thront mit seiner berühmten Freitreppe majestätisch über dem Marktplatz. 1156 als romanische Basilika geweiht, wurde sie von 1427 bis 1525 zur gotischen Hallenkirche umgebaut.


Sehenswert sind neben den herausragenden spätgotischen Werken wie der große niederländische Passionsaltar (um 1460), das überlebensgroße Kruzifix des Ulmer Bildhauers Michael Erhardt (1494) und die filigrane Steinmetzarbeit des figurenreichen Sakramentshauses (1438) auch die weiteren Altäre und Gemälde sowie die zahlreichen Personendenkmale. Ebenso erwähnenswert sind die mittelalterliche Beinkammer im Chor, das Epitaph des armlosen Kunstschreibers Thomas Schweikert oder Kuriositäten wie ein 1605 gefundener Mammutzahn oder der „Hungerkasten“ von 1817.


160 Stufen führen den Turm hinauf in die Glockenstuben und die ehemalige Türmerwohnung mit dem herrlichen Blick über die ganze Altstadt.


Die Johanniterkirche

Die Johanniterkirche, ein profanierter Kirchenraum aus dem 12. Jahrhundert, bietet einen stimmungsvollen musealen Rahmen für Meisterwerke von Lucas Cranach d. Ä. bis Tilman Riemenschneider.
Den Kernbestand der hochkarätigen Kollektion Alter Meister, die der Kunst des deutschen Südwestens, einschließlich des Bodenseeraumes und der Nordschweiz, vom ausgehenden Mittelalter bis zur beginnenden Neuzeit gewidmet ist, bildet der 2003 von der Familie Würth erworbene ehemals Fürstlich Fürstenbergische Bilderschatz Donaueschingen.


Die Urbanskirche

Die Kirche besitzt mit dem Wandbild Maria am Spinnrocken, einem spätgotischen Hochaltar und der barocken Orgel drei herausragende Werke.


Einkaufsstadt

Schwäbisch Hall ist die Einkaufsstadt der Region. Hier haben Handel und Wandel eine lange Tradition. In der liebevoll restaurierten Altstadt erwartet Sie ein buntes Miteinander von geschäftiger Betriebsamkeit und geruhsamem Flanieren.


Festkultur

Kultur hat eine hohe Bedeutung in unserer Stadt. Zu dieser gehört auch eine ausgeprägte Festkultur. Zu den schönsten und größten Festen zählen das Kuchen- und Brunnenfest der Haller Sieder an Pfingsten und das Sommernachtsfest Ende August. Bunt und voller Lebensfreude sind diese beiden Stadtfeste, die nur Dank des ehrenamtlichen Engagements von hunderten Beteiligten möglich sind.


Der Siedershof

Der Große Siedershof Schwäbisch Hall ist das lebendige Zeugnis einer vielschichtigen Vergangenheit. Seine Wurzeln reichen zurück bis in das frühe Mittelalter, als die junge Siederschar nicht nur Salz, aus der schon zu keltischer Zeit genutzten Salzquelle am Kocher gesotten hat, sondern auch als Feuerwehr fungierte oder der alten Reichsstadt als Bürgerwache diente.

Idyllisches Umland

Nutzen Sie unser Haus als Ausgangspunkt, um das Haller Land kennen zu lernen. Idyllische Landschaften, beeindruckende Burgen und Schlösser, erfrischende Flüsse sowie romantische Straßen und Orte haben schon viele unserer Gäste zu einer Ausfahrt eingeladen. Hierfür wird auch unsere hauseigene Fahrrad- und Motorradgarage sehr wertgeschätzt.

Kloster Großcomburg

Hoch über dem Kochertal und in Sichtweite der Stadt liegt auf einem Bergrücken die Großcomburg. Die ehemalige Kirchen- und Klosteranlage ist ein Monument von europäischem Rang. Die Kirche St. Nikolaus birgt mit dem feuervergoldeten Altarvorsatz und dem romanischen Radleuchter zwei Kostbarkeiten. Erfahren Sie auf der Webseite des Klosters alles Wichtige zu Besichtigungszeiten und Führungen.


Hohenloher Freilandmuseum Wackershofen

Nur wenige Autominuten vom Stadtzentrum entfernt liegt das Hohenloher Freilandmuseum Wackershofen. Vom stattlichen Bauernhof bis zum Taglöhnerhäuschen, von der Mühle über Weinbauernhäuser bis zur Kapelle und dem Gefängnis reicht die Palette der rund 70 historischen Gebäude aus der Zeit vom 16. bis zum 20. Jahrhundert. Umgeben von Gärten, Obstwiesen und Feldern und mit Bauernhoftieren historischer Rassen, wird die Vergangenheit hier lebendig. Die Webseite des Freilandmuseums liefert Ihnen alles Wichtige zu Besichtigungszeiten und Führungen.


Badevergnügen und Erholung

Als Stadt mit großer Salzsiedertradition wird die Salzsole heute noch genutzt, um Ihren Geist und Körper im Schenkenseebad und dem Solebad zu verwöhnen.


Wandern und Zweirad fahren

Viele unserer Gäste nutzen das Hotel Scholl als Ausgangspunkt für eine schier unendliche Zahl an Wander-, Rad- und Motorradausflügen. Sei es der Schwäbisch-Fränkische Wald, der Kocher-Jagst-Radweg oder die Burgenstraße, es gibt zu Fuß und auf dem Zweirad viel zu sehen.


Ballonfahrt über das Haller Land

Nachdem Sie unsere Stadt und deren Umland erkundet haben, lädt Sie eine romantische Fahrt im Heißluftballon dazu ein, die Orte Ihrer unvergesslichen Erlebnisse aus der Vogelperspektive zu sehen.

Vielfältige Kultur

Regelmäßig dürfen wir Gäste empfangen, die sich neben den anderen Vorzügen der Stadt für das reiche Kulturangebot interessieren. Die Haller Freilichtspiele und das Globe Theater sind ein Geheimtipp unter Schauspielenthusiasten.

Meist kombinieren unsere Gäste diese Erlebnisse mit einem Besuch der zahlreichen Kunstausstellungen, die Exponate weltbekannter Künstler ausstellen.

Zusätzlich besticht Schwäbisch Hall durch traditionsreiche Feste und Märkte, die unsere Straßen mit mittelalterlichem Flair füllen. Und so wie die Stadt früher Händler aus allen Himmelsrichtungen an einen Ort brachte, übernimmt die kulturelle Verknüpfung heute das hier ansässige Goethe-Institut.

Freilichtspiele

Theater unter freiem Himmel ist in Schwäbisch Hall ein ganz besonderes Erlebnis. Eingebettet in die malerische Altstadtkulisse wird auf der Großen Treppe vor St. Michael seit 1925 professionelles Theater geboten. Auf den 53 himmelwärts strebenden Stufen wird gespielt, getanzt und gesungen. Und der malerische Marktplatz wird zur Loge für Theaterliebhaber aus Nah und Fern. Besuchen Sie die offizielle Webseite der Freilichtspiele für Spielpläne und Reservierungen.


Haller Globe Theater

Das Haller Globe Theater auf der Kocherinsel Unterwöhrd ist die zweite Hauptspielstätte und ein echtes Shakespeare-Theater. In diesem Holzrundbau mit 391 überdachten, wetterunabhängigen Plätzen findet auch das Kinder- und Familientheater statt. Für eine Einsicht in die Spielpläne und Tickets steht Ihnen die offizielle Webseite der Freilichtspiele zur Verfügung.


Kunsthalle Würth

Seit Ihrer Eröffnung im Jahr 2001 hat sich die Kunsthalle Würth zu einem echten Besuchermagneten entwickelt. Mit ihren mittlerweile 17.000 Werken aus rund 500 Jahren zählt die Sammlung Würth zu den bedeutendsten Privatsammlungen Europas. In der nach Plänen des dänischen Architekten Hennig Larsen erbauten Kunsthalle Würth hat sie einen attraktiven Ausstellungsort, in dem die Vielfalt der Würth'schen Kunstsammlungen in immer wieder neuen, thematisch schlüssigen Ausschnitten präsentiert wird. Schwerpunkte sind wichtige Positionen aus Skulptur, Malerei und Grafik vom ausgehenden 19. Jahrhundert bis zur Gegenwart. Die offizielle Webseite der Kunsthalle Würth informiert Sie über die laufenden und geplanten Ausstellungen.


Alte Meister Sammlung Würth

Beherbergt in der Johanniterkirche, zeigt diese Sammlung unter anderem Werke von Lukas Cranach oder die weltbekannte Darmstädter Madonna, ein Meisterwerk von Hans Holbein dem Jüngeren. Die offizielle Webseite der Sammlung Alte Meister informiert Sie über die zu sehenden Exponate.


Hällisch-Fränkisches Museum

Das Hällisch-Fränkische Museum, im mittelalterlichen Stadtkern gelegen, zeigt auf über 3000 qm Geschichte, Kunst und Kultur der ehemaligen Reichsstadt und ihrer Umgebung. Ein informativer Rundgang führt von den geologischen Anfängen der Region bis in die Gegenwart.


Haalamt

In diesem Haus neben dem Haalplatz wurden über Jahrhunderte die Geschicke der Sieder gelenkt. Gerne gewährt Ihnen ein Haalrat Einblick in die genealogischen Bücher, nach denen noch heute die „Ewige Siedersrente" berechnet wird.


Kunstverein

Hier finden Sie Zeitgenössische Kunst in besonderen Räumen.


Flugplatzmuseum im Solpark

Das Museum zeigt einen Querschnitt durch die Geschichte des Haller Fliegerhorsts 1934–1945 und die Zeit der US-Army in den Dolan Barracks bis 1993.


Feuerwehrmuseum

Das Haller Feuerwehrmuseum umfasst eine Ausstellungsfläche von mehr als 1.600 qm und beherbergt einen Bestand von 6.000 Exponaten, u.a. eine der größten Feuerspritzen- und Helm-Sammlungen Europas.


KZ-Gedenkstätte Hessental

Die Gedenkstätte in der Nähe des Bahnhofs Hessental erinnert an die Geschichte des KZ-Außenlagers, das dort von Oktober 1944 bis April 1945 bestand.


Kunstschmiedehaus Emil Schmidt

Zu besichtigen ist das ehemalige Wohnhaus des Ehrenbürgers Emil Schmidt aus dem 18. Jahrhundert mit Zeugnissen alter Schmiedekunst aus vier Jahrhunderten.


Dieter Franck Haus

Das Dieter Franck Haus beherbergt und pflegt den künstlerischen Nachlass des Malers Dieter Franck (1909 – 1980). Zu besichtigen sind das ehemalige Wohnhaus und die malerischen, zeichnerischen und graphischen Werke.


Haus der Ortsgeschichte

Sammlung von dörflichen und bäuerlichen Gegenständen.


Galerie am Markt

Dieses Kunstmuseum zeigt wechselnde Ausstellungen zeitgenössischer deutscher Künstler.


Goethe Institut

Das Goethe Institut in Schwäbisch Hall ist nicht nur ein Ort zum Deutsch lernen, sondern auch Treffpunkt der Kulturen.

Starke Wirtschaft

Als bedeutender Wirtschaftsstandort in Süddeutschland dürfen wir in Schwäbisch Hall auch viele Geschäftsleute begrüßen.

Wenn Sie auf der Suche nach einem exklusiven Geschäftsaufenthalt für Sie oder Ihre Besucher sind, bietet das Hotel Scholl die idealen Voraussetzungen. Ausgestattet mit allen Annehmlichkeiten, die Geschäftsreisende erwarten, sorgt außerdem die Bärbel American Bar für einen Ausgleich zum harten Business-Alltag.

Wirtschaftsstandort Schwäbisch Hall

Unsere Stadt ist nur nicht kulturelles, sondern auch wirtschaftliches Zentrum der Region. Auf der offiziellen Webseite des Wirtschaftsstandortes Schwäbisch Hall erfahren Sie mehr über die hier ansässigen Unternehmen und deren Erfolgsgeheimnisse.


Gipfel der Weltmarktführer

Jedes Jahr ist Schwäbisch Hall Schauplatz des Gipfels der Weltmarktführer, zu dem wir bundesweite Teilnehmer zum größten Treffen von Weltmarktführerunternehmen, Beratern und Entscheidern begrüßen dürfen. Das Programm der Veranstaltung ist auf der offiziellen Webseite des Weltmarktführergipfels einsehbar.